Task 7b: Walk Cycle

Through this task we were asked to animate a looping walk cycle for a bipedal character. Because of its leg structure I decided to use the walk cycle of a chicken as a basic reference. From that, I drew the following thumbnails.

003

I started by animating both legs at once. In retrospect this was a bad way to do things. The animation looked choppy and I could not get the second leg to look right: the knee kept snapping and it made the entire walk look wrong.

knee_snap

We each got feedback from the class and mine was that the legs were still janky (see above) and that I could exaggerate the overlapping movements more. Kylie really helped me with the toes. While I had started to add some overlapping action she showed me that I could really exaggerate the movement.

toes

I decided to scrap the second leg entirely and work on perfecting the first. Once it looked okay and I had got more feedback from others I started on the second leg. Following Kylie’s suggestion, I moved the second leg to match the first and then adjusted the timing until it looked complete. After adding a ground, skydome and camera I rendered and finished the video:

I don’t think it looks like a chicken anymore but I am still happy with the result.

One thought on “Task 7b: Walk Cycle

  1. This walk cycle is a great improvement from the one we saw in class, way to work in iterations! Can you explain more about how you animated the second leg? I had a hard time getting mine to match. Did you copy the animation and offset it? Looks really good though!

    Like

Leave a Reply

