Digital Painting (Wk 1)

Today we began the digital painting specialization. In class we covered the basics of brushes in Photoshop (which was good because I had forgotten most of the details).

Digital-Painting_Brushes-Doc

Class work from today

Personally I really like using the hard brushes and the ‘paintly’ feel that it brings. Some of my favorite game art uses these techniques I will definitely be trying to imitate them.

bastion2

Game art from Bastion

The project sounds awesome and I am really looking forward to it. I am still deciding on the myth / legend I would like to base my designs on but at the moment I am leaning towards the Norse legend of the Valkyries. Using this legend I would concept a Valkyrie, the horse and a battlefield.

d7471d7eeb755c37d9a8e653c124e322

Valkyrie on horse

References

Bastion: The Kid [Image]. (2012). Retrieved from
http://www.polycount.com/forum/showthread.php?t=93318

Valkyrie in Norse Mythology [Image]. (2015). Retrieved from
es.pinterest.com/pin/366832332127409562/

Leave a Reply

