Game Character Unwrap and Base Texture

Having finished my model, I began the unwrapping process. I choose to unwrap symmetrically as this will save time during texturing and I am running out of time…

I didn’t really have any issues doing this, except for the hands. The hands were extremely fiddly and I think this was because of my shitty hand modelling. Otherwise, it was all pretty easy to unwrap. Below is the unwrapped character with the checkerboard texture applied:

unwrapThe maps are not packed perfectly, but, as I said, I am trying not to spend too much time on this stage:

mapFrom here, I created an earthy / forest colour palette and filled in the base colours for my texture.

baseI will be treating the textures as an iterative process and will be returning to them after the rigging and blocking out is complete.

Leave a Reply

