Modular Workflows

Last week in class, Brett took us through a modular workflow exercise. This involved us using a set of small modeled assets, such as a part of a wall, that could fit together in a multitude of different ways. We were to use them to construct an entire building.

Below is an image of the modular pieces that we used:

02By duplicating, rotating, mirroring and occasionally scaling the original pieces I was able to construct the following building:

renderAs you can see, this building has been made of many, many smaller pieces:

04To ensure that the pieces fit together correctly, we used vertex snapping and axis constraints. I had never used this before and it was extremely helpful.

05The only issue we encountered was that the assets had not been modeled to the grid, which made it harder to fit them together in some circumstances. For my own projects, I will definitely be constructing the models to the grid.

From this exercise I could already see the benefit of using modular pieces in order to construct larger objects and environments. I will be using this knowledge for both the world builders project and for the cross-discipline project, Orient.

APPLICATION OF THIS RESEARCH:

From the lesson on modular workflows I could see how it could be applied in my own projects.

In the world builders project, the most obviously application would be for the pyramid’s steps. Below is a mock-up of a modular step piece which I construct to the grid:

06Using this I was quickly able to construct part of a staircase:

07Obviously, this is unfinished as it would need sides or a railing. However, as each stair piece is an instance of the original, this was a very simple and quick fix.

08

09Super simple and quick. Again, this will need some adjustment once I determine the steepness of the pyramid.

For the Orient project I will be creating many different low-poly buildings so using modular pieces will speed up this workflow dramatically.

To begin with, I decided to start with some modular pieces for a square building (10m x 10m for the base and 5m for each floor). These were modeled to the grid.

11The windows and door are not necessarily to scale as the game designers wanted the buildings simplified and stylised.

From this, I can make different buildings with a varying number of floors.
12Of course, these are very basic and very repetitive: they lack variation.

13However, it is a good place to start and I can always adjust things later. Similarly, as the walls were made separately, I can also construct rectangular buildings from these pieces.

Leave a Reply

